The Week That Was…..

“When nothing is old deserved or respected
And your life doesn’t change by the man that’s elected
If you’re loved by someone you’re never rejected
Decide what to be and go be it.”

As the old saying goes, I just spent a year in Park City, UT last week. Our fine little mountain town was turned upside down with the Sundance Film Festival, topped off with the insurgence of snow-hounds seeking the nearly 40″ of pure white gold that was dumped on our slopes.

This annual little film shin dig always draws a large crowd and I was fortunate enough to catch up with a plethora of faces I haven’t seen in a while. Ironically, during the week, my excitement gave way to anxiety as so many faces brought back mixed emotions some good, some bad.

Luckily, I have been given two wonderful personal gifts – ADHD and the ability to ski. The combination of the two allow me to be distracted easily and go find bliss in an instant on the mountain. On a gorgeous bluebird day I took my bag of  mixed emotions and grabbed first chair at the place that is my sanctuary.  For an entire day I skied carefree like a wild-eyed child, booting off ledges, maching groomers and sharing ice-cold PBR’s with the aspens joyfully soaking in the beauty  that surrounded me.

As the day closed, I sat on ski beach alone and let the setting arms of the sun embrace my soul and began to feel like a complete asshole. Who was I to have these feelings of anxiety  about people who I called friends. I had to sit back and laugh at myself and  soak in the calmness and balance that skiing and the mountain bring me.  What a lucky fucking bastard  I am to have such wonderful people orbit my little world, it isn’t always perfect, but what is-

I came to conclusion that friends are like ski days. There are going to be good  ones and great ones, there will be days spent together that you wish would never end and others where the clock seems to have stopped. But, in the end, just as I am thankful for my  time on the mountain, I am even more thankful for the kind souls I saw the last week. Without them, this wild adventure called  life just wouldn’t be the same.

If you happen to stumble across this post, flip through your phone, call an old friend and smile that they answered because it was you-

~ by pcpowderhound on February 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

